The Votes Are In..

..and Pluto is no longer a planet.

Apparently, a group of astronomers got together in Prague and decided that we only have eight planets in our solar system.

Well, not quite. Pluto is the first celestial body to be included in a new category called "dwarf planets". So we have eight and one half planets.

Well, not quite. Pluto is joined by a rock which glorys in the name 2003 UB313, another big rock called Ceres, and Charon, Pluto's moon.

So eight and four half planets.

Quite what this does to the elegant mouse that sits under new potatoes remains to be seen.

1 comment:

Jim said...

I'm glad that they demoted that little effer, Pluto. It's just a dirty iceball with a highly inclinced orbit anyway.

Now if we can only get to that hot hell-hole, Mercury!